Women's Award

Bexley Women's Club

Women's Award

Dear Bexley Community Members,

Since 1935, the Bexley Women’s Club has served our special community with a three-part mission: community outreach, scholarship, and social services.

We are proud to continue our Women's Awards Program, which we began in 2021, to recognize the important contributions and achievements of women and youth in our community.

See the most recent award recipients >

Bexley Women's Club

Who Is This Award For?

The Bexley Women’s Club Women’s Award recognizes women and youth in our community who work to benefit others, whether through community outreach, social service, or scholarship service. This includes professionals who go the extra mile, as well as volunteers who are working to improve our community.

Judging Criteria
The degree to which their services/ actions have made a lasting or meaningful contribution or impact on their community - 40%
The length and degree of their service(s) – 20%
The extent to which their service or action might be considered above and beyond the call of duty – 20%
The extent to which their action would be recognized and valued by their peers/ community leaders- 20%

Bexley Women's Club

Featured Artist of the Year

Acrylic on canvas (Featured artist)

(Acrylic on canvas)

This Year's Featured Artist of the Year is
Abby Feinknopf

Abby is a self-taught mixed-media artist. In 2015, she was diagnosed with breast cancer and says, "when I finished treatment in 2016, I went back to my studio and started painting, I painted every day, and I truly believe that the act of making art every day and the power of bold, vibrant color is what helped me heal". Abby is from Wheeling, WV originally. She graduated from West Virginia University with a B.A. in English. She is a member of Ohio Art League (OAL) and the National League of American Pen Women (ANLAPW), where she was the first NLAPW Ohio Charter member to earn dual membership as a writer and artist. *

In Addition, Abby is helping our community through the decompress through collage class. The class will lead each participant through a creative process to produce a colorful collage art piece. The goal is to "melt" away your day's anxiety and stress.

* From Bexley Art Library

Bexley Women's Club

2022 Women's Award Recipients

Adult Community Service Award
Rebecca Ness
Volunteerism and leadership on the Environmental Sustainability Council, with Green Bexley. She leads and educates others by her example and passion for our environment.

Adult Scholastic Award
Debbi Sugarman
Business owner in Columbus and the daughter of a Holocaust Survivor. She is very passionate about Holocaust Education and awareness.

Adult Social Service Award
Dr. Beth Weinstock
Founder of Birdie Light, a national initiative to fight the catastrophic increase in fentanyl deaths in young people, after the tragic and unexpected death of her son Eli. This initiative includes educational and actionable activities to prevent such tragic losses.

Youth Community Service Grades 9-12 Award
Erin Winchell
For going out her way to make the world a better place. Erin has volunteered for several organizations, among them the Fruit of the Vine Community Center, the New Albany Food Shelter, and the Cat Welfare Association. She is known in the high school as someone who goes out of her way to make others feel supported and included.

Bexley Women's Club

2021 Women's Award Recipients

(Pictured From Left to Right)
Bexley Mayor Ben Kessler, Scholastic Award recipient and BWC’s Member of Distinction, Edie Mae Herrel, BWC President Akisa Fukuzawa

Special Service Award (one time)
Dr. Amy Acton nominated by BWC Women’s Award Committee, for her distinct contribution to Ohioans’ public health during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Adult Scholastic Award
Edie Mae Hamilton Herrel nominated by Jane Baldwin,
for her lifetime work on Columbus Junior Theatre of the Arts and Bexley Historical Society.

Adult Social Service Award
Cindy Tyson nominated by Monique Lampke,
for her dedicated work on Bexley City Schools COVID Task Force.

Adult Community Award
Kathy Gatterdam
nominated by Marie Hurt, Gavin Levine, John Koetz, Jan Zupnick, for her longstanding work on Rotary Youth Exchange.

Youth MS Community Service Award
Sydney Swendal nominated by Brooke Wojcik,
for her variety of volunteer work through Bexley Middle School Cheerleading team including Down Syndrome Association’s annual walk.

Youth HS Community Service Award
Meagan Warren nominated by Mark Ritter,
for her numerous hours creating and working on the "Books For Bedtime" project.

Group award (one time)
Women of DARN (Marguerethe Jaede, President) nominated by Ben Kessler, Mayor of Bexley,
for their dedicated work at Developmental Assets Resource Network to help provide desperately needed food and financial support to impacted children and families.